Michelle Regalado Deatrick




Michelle lives with her family on an 80-acre farm in southeast Michigan, where she cares for a large organic garden, an orchard, and a 20-acre native prairie surrounded by stands of native trees.  An activist for the environment and small farm rights, she serves on the Democratic National Committee, where she is working to establish the DNC's first Environmental Council. She also serves on the Board of the Southeast Michigan Land Conservancy, and is the founder and chair of the Washtenaw County Environmental Council. She recently served as Vice Chair of the Washtenaw County Commission. Michelle currently teaches poetry workshops privately and has recently taught several classes for the University of Michigan's Lifelong Learning Institute.


Michelle's poetry and fiction have appeared or are forthcoming in Southern Poetry Review, American Literary Review, Mid-American Review, Copper Nickel, Best New American Voices, and elsewhere. She's the Winner of the Chautauqua Poetry Contest, and received Third Place in the Women's National Book Association 2015 Poetry Contest and Second Runner-Up in the Boulevard Emerging Poets' Contest. A Finalist for both the Rita Dove Poetry Award and the James Wright Poetry Contest, Michelle has received fellowships from the MacDowell Colony and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and multiple residencies from the Ragdale Foundation. She is working to complete her first book of poetry.


Michelle began working at the age of 12 and worked throughout high school and college. After receiving a BA from Wesleyan, Michelle served as a Peace Corps Volunteer, teaching in East Africa. She earned a Masters degree in Education Policy from Harvard and was working on her doctoral dissertation--a statistical analysis of aid flows to less developed countries--at Stanford while working as a policy analyst, researching classroom contexts and the relationship between changing workplace technologies and worker skill needs, when she made the decision to turn to writing instead. She then worked as a technical writer and editor and began writing fiction and poetry, eventually earning an MFA in fiction from the University of Michigan, where she received the Colby Fellowship, Hopwood Awards in Fiction and Poetry, the Bain-Swigget Prize for poetry, and a Graduate Classics translation prize.

© Michelle Regalado Deatrick 2011-2018